What Would You Do?

trw999

What Would You Do?

Post by trw999 » Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:29 am

I am in the market for a Dragon. I have been crewing in England for six years. I started out in a classic, though now race in moderns. I am an enthusiastic club sailor, racing most weekends during the season. I regularly compete at Cowes Week. I also attend Edinburgh Cup regattas and take in the East Coast or South Coast championships too. I have been to the Douarnenez regatta once, really enjoying the experience. I also raced in the Gold Cup at Falmouth.

With regard to Robert Alpe’s impressive discussion papers, I place myself in the Enthusiastic Group and that is where I shall probably stay for the rest of my Dragon sailing days. I aim to carry on club racing and attending national regattas, as well as probably one European based regatta each year. I have no great expectations of winning many races but am happy to be out on the water pitting my whits against the elements and fellow sailors.

On the face of it, it is a simple decision. Buy a second-hand modern Dragon, within my budget, that has been well cared for, has a sound trailer and several suits of sails. However, I was bought up sailing wooden boats and love them. I enjoy repairing, improving and fine tuning them. I can even enjoy maintaining them in the off season! Like many Dragon sailors, I was initially attracted to the class by the gorgeous lines of this beautiful yacht. To my mind, a varnished hull, teak decked Dragon is the epitome of what a yacht should look like. I know of one for sale. What is more, it is a 1959 Pedersen and Theusen. Oh, the temptation!

What my heart may yearn for, my head tells me otherwise. Buy that nice six year old Petticrow, pop it in the water, race it, give it a service in the winter and an occasional clean and polish. New sails every now and again. Hopefully a consistent mid fleet racer with occasional bursts to the front. An easy decision.