Irish lift the Cannonball Trophy

Submit and read Regatta News and Reports.
Post Reply
Posts: 364
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:58 am

Irish lift the Cannonball Trophy

  • Quote

Postby Webmaster » Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:53 pm

Close racing.jpg
Close racing

The annual Cannonball Team Racing Trophy was contested on 1 and 2 October last in Muiden on the IJsselmeer. The triangular team racing event was competed for between Dragon crews from the Royal Netherlands (Muiden), the Royal London (Cowes) and the Royal St George (Dun Laoghaire) Yacht Clubs.

Cannonball teams UK & Ireland

With a superb sunny day and a beautiful autumn breeze the first day delivered some hot moments, lots of penalties by the three experienced umpires on the water and a draw at the end of the day, although Cowes had the advantage in points scores and they won a box of 'Dragon blood’ wine which was consumed the same evening by all participants.

Breakfast in the Cannonball barge

After the cheese and port at dinner in the club house of the RNLYC, some of the more energetic team members discovered the night life in this small village near Amsterdam. It certainly boosted the performance of the Irish team during a more windy and wet final day on Sunday. Even with gusty winds the Race Officer and team provided excelent racing and smooth transfers of the teams from a mothership. With an nose length difference at the finish line during the last race the Irish team became the winners and took the Cannonball Trophy home to Dublin.

Cannonball Umpires & Frank

The friendship between the sailors and the singing during the traditional Cannonball Dinner added without no doubt to the quality of both friendly and competitive close sailing. The team of the Royal St George YC has already been challenged by the Dragon sailors of the Royal London Yacht Club and the team of the Royal Netherlands Yacht Club to defend the Cannonball Trophy on 7 and 8 October 2017 in Cowes.

The Cannonball

The winning Irish team representing the RStGYC Dragon sailors was Martin Byrne, Paul Maguire, Peter Bowring, John O’Connor, Marcus Pearson and Tim Pearson (Team Captain). They are pictured here with members of the Cowes team and host team sailors Philip De Koning and Frank Von Beunigan.

Post Reply

Return to “Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests